Laine des Iles

Laine des Iles Lumen 100g

€14.95

Stock: 4

Introducing Lumen, a brand new lightweight yarn for summer knitting, developed and worsted spun exclusively for Laine des Iles in the UK.

Lumen is a blend of 50% Falkland Islands Polwarth wool, 25% Belgian linen and 25% Tencel. The Polwarth breed, originally developed in Australia in the 19th century, is the result of crossbreeding sheep with 75% Merino and 25% Lincoln Longwool. It is now gaining in popularity in the Falkland Islands due to the excellent quality of its wool. The Lincoln Longwool is one of Britain's most important heritage breeds, producing an exceptionally long, strong and lustrous fleece. By blending these characteristics with those of merino sheep, Polwarth produces a fleece with a subtle sheen, as soft as merino, but more durable and less prone to pilling.  We've combined this beautiful wool with linen for crispness and Tencel for drape and sheen. The result is a perfect yarn for all your summer projects.

Lumen gives an extra-soft, breathable fabric with good drape and a slight sheen, making it an excellent choice for summer tops, lightweight jumpers and shawls. It works well with lace and textured patterns, and is soft enough to wear against the skin and for young children.

Please also see our blog article for more background to this yarn as well as pattern ideas.

Please note:  this is an initial test run of a a limited quantity which is currently only available in a small palette of 4 soft, summery colours. Depending on sales and customer reaction, we will increase the number of colours and quantities for our next production run.

 

Country of origin: United Kingdom

Fibre content:  50% Polwarth wool / 25% Linen / 25% Tencel

Type:  4 Ply

Length: 350m

Weight:  100g

Needle size:  3 - 3.5mm

Gauge:  10cm = 25-27 sts & 34-36 rows

Care:  Cool handwash only, dry flat

 

....Avis des clients..Customer reviews....

Laine des Iles

Laine des Iles Lumen 100g

€14.95

Stock: 4

Nous vous présentons Lumen, un tout nouveau fil léger pour le tricot d'été, développé et filé en "worsted" (peigné) exclusivement pour Laine des Iles au Royaume-Uni.

Lumen est un mélange de 50 % de laine Polwarth des îles Malouines, 25 % de lin belge et 25 % de Tencel. La race Polwarth, développée d'origine en Australie au XIXe siècle, est le résultat de croisements de 75 % de mérinos et de 25 % de Lincoln Longwool. Elle gagne aujourd'hui en popularité aux Iles Malouines en raison des excellentes qualités de sa laine. Le Lincoln Longwool est l'une des races ancestrales les plus importantes de Grande-Bretagne et produit une toison exceptionnellement longue, résistante et lustrée. En mélangeant ces caractéristiques avec celles du mouton mérinos, le Polwarth produit une toison au lustre subtil, aussi douce qu'un mérinos, mais plus durable et moins susceptible de boulocher.  Nous avons combiné cette belle laine avec du lin pour lui apporter de la texture et de la fraicheur et du Tencel pour le drapé et la brillance. Le résultat est un fil parfait pour tous vos projets d'été.

Lumen donne un tricot extra-doux et respirant, avec un bon drapé et une légère brillance, ce qui en fait un excellent choix pour les hauts d'été, les pulls légers et les châles. Il convient à la dentelle et aux motifs texturés, et est suffisamment doux pour être porté sur la peau et pour les jeunes enfants.

Veuillez également consulter notre article de blog pour plus d'informations et d'idées de patrons pour ce fil.

Attention:  il s'agit d'un premier essai d'une quantité limitée qui n'est donc actuellement disponible que dans une petite palette de 4 couleurs douces et estivales.  Selon les ventes et le réaction des clients, nous augmenterons les couleurs et les quantités pour notre prochaine production.


Pays d'origine:  Royaume Uni

Composition:  50% Laine Polwarth / 25% Lin / 25% Tencel

Catégorie:  Fingering/4 Ply (laine fine)

Longueur: 350m

Poids:  100g

Diam. aiguille:  3 - 3.5mm

10cm:  25-27 m & 34-36 rgs

Lavage:  A la main, sêchage à plat


....Avis des clients..Customer reviews....